After nearly seven months of renovations, the house of Louis Vuitton is making final arrangements for the reopening of its Asnières atelier and Galerie this May.
Appropriately dubbed “the heart of the house,” the Asnières atelier still serves as the site of the creation of Louis Vuitton trunks, designs in rare and exotic materials, and special orders.
It all started in 1859, just five years after Louis Vuitton was founded. The maison outgrew its Paris headquarters and took to the village of Asnières, France to construct new ateliers.
The ateliers were built in an elegant Eiffel style with glass and steel, and the top floor was renovated into a living space for Louis Vuitton himself, who made living in close proximity to his artisans a top priority. The atelier was in use until it closed for construction last November.
Now inside the newly renovated Asnières atelier, artisans create a range of classic Louis Vuitton trunks; shower trunks, iPad trunks, and made-to-order violin trunks are assembled in classic and custom designs. Still holding to the house’s roots in travel accessories, some more modern trunk designs such as Nicholas Ghesquière’s “Petite Malle” are also constructed in the atelier.
Each item is carefully made under the direction of Vuitton’s great-great-grandson, Patrick Louis Vuitton.
Also restored, the Asnières Galerie showcases the history of the house. Although it is displayed in no particular order, the Galerie provides an intimate look at everything from the evolution of the Louis Vuitton monogram to client relations and the globalization of the brand.
Hundreds of objects, records, posters and original photographs from the Louis Vuitton archives are on view beside original Louis Vuitton items once owned by princes and maharajas from around the world. Visits will provide Galerie goers with one hour to explore the space. Click through to see the Galerie and the intricate trunk-making process at the Asnières atelier, and head over to Louis Vuitton to book your visit in advance.